Etude House Oh My God! Dry Shampoo Review


I found this post 90% complete and buried in my Evernote drafts .___. Then I had to dig through my camera’s memory card in the hopes that I still had photos – I reviewed this while I was still in Singapore, and had been planning on testing it back in the States as well, but I ran out ): And this was apparently the only picture I took? ugh failure. Still hope some of you find this useful!

Since everything on the packaging is in Korean, the Singaporean distributors put an English label on it. I ripped the outer cellophane off and crumpled it up before taking a photo, and then when I realized it, the label was so wrinkled my camera wouldn’t focus. ahahaha whoops x: So I have typed it out for you!

This spray dry shampoo instantly cleanses hair without water, soaking up excess oil and removing impurities, for a freshly-shampooed look with a clean floral fruity scent.

[Directions] 1. Shake well before use. 2. Hold bottle 15~20cm away from head and spray onto scalp and hair. 3. Massage into scalp with fingers and brush out thoroughly to re-style.

[Caution] For external use only. Avoid contact with eyes. Keep out of reach of children. Discontinue use if signs of irritation and/or rash appear.

Vol. 50ml (1.69 fl. oz.)

[Ingredients] butane, propane, isobutane, alcohol, corn starch modified, kaolin, cyclopentasiloxane, tetrasodium pyrophosphate, cetrimonium chloride, fragrance

“Floral fruity” is a pretty accurate description of the scent – it smells EXACTLY like Anna Sui’s Flight of Fancy EDP, which has notes like lychee, lemon, yuzu, rose, and freesia. So it’s a light, citrussy, sweet sort of scent, but it is also really strong. I could smell it in my hair for hours, and I usually didn’t spray my hair more than twice. Made me feel real clean, haha.

It’s a wet formula in a spray can, which I prefer over the dry shampoos that are just powders that you have to comb out. Mostly because I am not good at spreading them evenly. And then I’ll scratch my head or something and my fingernails will be full of gunk. yeah. gross. And they’re typically lighter-colored powders too, which just doesn’t bode well for me. So yes, the OMG Shampoo already has good things going for it.

As for its actual effectiveness, it did a good job of refreshing my limp hair in the tropical heat of Singapore. And if I didn’t run around and sweat too much, the effects lasted until I went to bed. But if I was outside for extended periods of time, my hair would be just as sad looking as before. Which is pretty much what I expect, I mean if I had washed my hair with regular shampoo, it would do the same thing, so I can’t call that a fault. I usually wash my hair every 2-3 days, though in Singapore I did have to wash it more often, if not every day. I always have to wear my hair up on the day I wash it though (I shower at night); I’ve never found a dry shampoo that can completely refresh hair on the third day. The Etude House shampoo was no exception – it was able to make my hair *look* washed, but there was just too much oil and when I brushed my hair, it clung to my scalp like a fragrant headcrab. So I still had to tie it back, but my bangs looked fine.

However, I don’t know if I would repurchase it; there are other dry shampoos out there that work just as well at lower price points, so its only real selling point is the scent. I spent S$16.90 on it (roughly $13 US at the time I bought it), but you can get it for like $8 on eBay (which I didn’t discover until later, of course) -_____- But for the amount of product given (it’s pretty much a travel size), even $8 is a bit on the higher end of the price range.

Disclaimer: I paid for this product, hence my whining about the price. The opinions detailed in this post belong solely to me and my oily head.

Leave a Reply

